Week 23 – John Linnell

John Linnel and John Flansburg of They Might Be Giants

HI!

This week is a salute to the birthday boy of them all John Linnell.

John Linnell is one of my heroes. Together with John Flasnburg he forms the duo They Might Be Giants.
Their music is genuine nerdy pop-rock that keeps surprising me in terms of intelligence and humour.

I suggest you go buy the whole back catalogue straight away or start with records like Flood, The Else or the compilation Dial a Song.

One Weekly Gun owes these guys big time. This week is a tribute to John Linnell – the guys without the glasses in the picture.

Dear John
http://www.reverbnation.com/controller/audio_player/download_song/857453
Take off your hats and bow to the man, that fit the world into a can.
Love pastry with coffee on the side, a nerdy grip on what seems right

He came through the wall
Wearing nothing at all
Only hillbilly songs with messages straight up your face

Digest on Ana Ngs strange love affair. James K. Polk’s story makes you care
about the world around. And such inspiring sounds makes you feel the nostalgia of you as a kid.

Dear John.
Did you become what you wanted?
Dear John.
You became what I need.

In terms of vocabulary he is the best, way better than all the rest.

It’s hard when you try.
Just sit down and cry.
The thing is that you don’t have a Flansburgh to pull you up again.

Dear John.
Did you become what you wanted?
Dear John.
You became what I need.

Dear John.
Did you become what you wanted?
Dear John.
You became what I need.

  1. Megan

    This is great! Are you going to do it again for Flans’ birthday?

  2. Nurse Dee

    Wow! I rarely come out to links put on the Johns’ Myspace page, but I’m REALLY glad I came to this one! Your song could be played on any TMBG set. I love it!!!

  3. Wow! Thank you so much! I’m really glad you like it.
    It’s actually a very personal song, without too much irony. I think the Johns really deserves to know how much they inspire all of us.
    I really appreciate your kind words!

  4. Nurse Dee

    This song has seriously become the earworm of my day!

    I’ve come to the conclusion that the melody is more Flansburgh-esque than Linnellish [;)] but the words are definitely JL (voca-BU-lary with the emPHAsis on a different sylLAble). Just a very sweet piece. You should email Flans and tell him you wrote a birthday song for Linnell and ask him to forward it to him. I think somewhere in the deep dark secret he would really enjoy hearing it.

    Are you Danish, or an American living in Denmark? I ask because I don’t hear a trace of accent in your voice. Are all of the voices yours?

    Anyway, keep up the great work.

  5. I think you’re right about the Flansburghisms of the melody. I actually wrote another verse, which had the melody going into long elaborations to get it more like Linnell’s. But it just turned out cheesy.

    I will email Mr. Flansburgh. Why not?

    And yeas, I’m danish. No americano. Actually I have a grandfather from Czeck Rep. And my my great great grandfather was a piano virtuoso.

  6. Nurse Dee

    So it’s in the genes, then!

    Did you email Flans? Because if you haven’t, I will! 🙂

    Tried to sign up to your Myspace page but you haven’t added me yet. If you’re so inclined, I’d appreciate it.

    BTW, congratulations on your recent marriage!

    ND

  7. Ana

    Well, I can’t get it to play on my computer. 😦 But I like the lyrics. Great salute to the most amazing musician EVER.




Leave a Reply

  • One%20Weekly%20Gun

    One%20Weekly%20Gun

